Betty Buckley Recording “Ghostlight,” Produced by T Bone Burnett, Arrives Today

By: Andrew Gans,
September 16, 2014

Betty Buckley’s new album “Ghostlight,” which reunites the Tony-winning actress with her longtime friend and producer T Bone Burnett, is released Sept. 16 by Palmetto Records.

“T Bone single-handedly changed the world of music and makes each project more perfect than the last,” said Buckley, who first worked with the producer when they were both 19 in Fort Worth, TX, in an earlier statement. “The gift of this project is beyond my ability to even express; it is my dream record.”

“All great art comes from the edge, not a place of comfort,” added Burnett. “Our vision was for a ghostly haunting sound, which I called ‘crime jazz,’ giving the project a timeless feel.”

Songs featured on the album follow:
1. Come To Me Bend To Me
2. If You Go Away
3. Blue Skies
4. Throw It Away
5. Lazy Afternoon
6. Bewitched
7. This Nearly Was Mine
8. Body And Soul
9. Comin’ Back To Me
10. Dreamsville
11. Take It With Me When I Go
12. Where Time Stands Still

The title of the recording, according to press notes, comes from “the tradition in the theatre where, after the performance in the dark theatre, a lone light bulb is left on at night to keep the ghosts company. This light is called a ghost light.”

“Ghostlight” is available for sale as a commemorative limited art box, which includes two separate vinyl records of the complete recording, a 24-page booklet of photos and notes, as well as CD copies of the “Ghostlight” recording and “Bootleg: Boardmixes from the Road,” the promo CD for “Ghostlight.” It is also sold as a CD and booklet.

Buckley will celebrate the new recording next month at Joe’s Pub, with concerts scheduled for Oct. 7-10.