New Betty Buckley Album ‘Story Songs’ Released Today

April 7. 2017

The double-disc recording features tunes by Jason Robert Brown, Joe Iconis, Radiohead, and more.

Story Songs, a new album by Broadway legend Betty Buckley, is released by Palmetto Records today, April 7.

Story Songs features a quartet of musicians including the multi-Grammy-nominated jazz pianist Christian Jacob, Buckley’s long-term pianist, arranger and music director, as well as jazz guitarist Oz Noy.

The set list on the double-disc album includes tunes by Radiohead, Jason Robert Brown, Joe Iconis, Sting, Peter Gabriel, Leonard Cohen, and more. The album was recorded live at both the Samueli Theater at the Segerstrom Center for the Arts and at Joe’s Pub.

Buckley made her Broadway debut in the musical 1776, originating the role of Martha Jefferson. She went on to win a Tony Award for her portrayal of Grizabella in Cats. Her subsequent stage credits include Pippin and Sunset Boulevard, among other shows. She was recently seen in M. Night Shyamalan’s film Split.